GLBT National Help Center Blog

Helping the LGBT Community

“When did you know?”

with one comment

A common question that gay, lesbian, bisexual and/or transgendered people are asked is “When did you know?”  It’s a tricky question in terms of sexual orientation and gender identity.  People who have not struggled with these issues sometimes operate under the assumption that a switch was flipped and all became clear, but that is often not the case.

Discovering one’s own sexual orientation or gender identity can be a short or long process, depending on many things like environment, self-awareness, and exposure to different ideas.  But one thing is for sure: Once people discover they are queer, it is significantly easier to come out if they are in a loving and supportive environment.

Please read this touching essay written by a mom of a six-year-old about how she is creating an environment where it is okay for her son to be whoever he is.

Want to talk about this or other issues?  Give us a call, start a chat or send us an email.

Written by glbtnhc

January 9, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Posted in Coming Out, Parent

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have kind of always known. I never really had a term to describe or identify myself with. I guess I am whats called genderqueer. I am 46 and finally told my brother I am a women in a mans body. I have no intention of srs. I have a wife and 3 kids. I will survive the fact that I am in constant turmoil. I watch my 15 yr old daughter and love her outfits and purses. I have always wanted to be who I knew I was but in my day and age it was unheard of to “come out”. I am out at least to my brother. Tonight I told my wife. She was remarkable about it and I did let her know that I will be buying my clothes to fit what I like. I will still dress as a man but will buy the stuff all the men think is gay. I love the colors and the patterns

    mrremlap

    February 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm


Leave a Reply

