GLBT National Help Center Blog

Helping the LGBT Community

It’s Never Too Late

with one comment

We have heard from men and women of all ages who are discovering their sexual orientation.  And regardless of whether the caller is 17 or 77, he/she will say something like: “I feel silly figuring this out at this age.  I should have realized sooner.”  While the media may make it seem like everyone is coming out at 12, the reality is that people come out at all different times in their life.

While it can seem obvious once a person has discovered his/her sexuality, the road there is not always easy.  Often there is not a supportive environment for someone to even explore feelings that might not be consistent with society’s “norm,” and sometimes the environment can be downright hostile and makes those feelings almost impossible to think about due to a real concern for self-preservation.

No matter what the age of discovery, it is the right time for that person.  And when that time comes, give us a call, send us an email or chat with us online.  We’re here for you.

Written by glbtnhc

October 3, 2011 at 8:49 am

Posted in Coming Out

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It really never is to late. I’m now 58. I knew I was a bit different as a child but that I was Gay in my early teens. I tried to live as a straight man until my 30’s. My brain let me know it wasn’t going to work. GLBT people NEED to live as just that. Nothing less. I am now VERY happy with my partner of about 14 years.
    We met on line, he lived in Malaysia. we now live together in New England.
    So folks… if I did it you can too. But it’s got to be in your own time in your own way. Don’t let anyone tell you you have to come out right away or in any certain way. It’s your ball game. Once you do… the world changes. It is true that people who know you, Love you and respect you will not care. It’s getting better for us all. I hope for nothing more than Love and Acceptance for all my Gay brothers and Sisters.
    Peace
    J&K

    John L Parkerson

    April 23, 2013 at 7:11 pm


Leave a Reply

